Posted by: Naomi | May 24, 2011

Middlesex

Every once in awhile, I come across a book that so enthralls and entertains me, that I spend every spare moment reading it, eager to finish the story. As soon as I am done the book, I immediately wish I had never read it, because I so thoroughly enjoyed it, and now that virgin reading is over. I cannot say enough about how much I loved Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I did not expect to become so enamored by a story about a hermaphrodite, but I felt that was only one of many parallel stories included in the book, along with the  trials of family, immigration, marriage, military service, infidelity, death, self-image, etc. Eugenides has a very intelligent and readable writing style, sprinkled with little sparkling bits of dark humor and titillating taboo details. I enjoyed the way that the family tries very hard to be bonded and together as a unit, yet each one has secrets from the other, secrets that could tear everything apart. I found it to be a very realistic portrayal of a typical family, it reminded me very much of my own experiences. It has also inspired a bit of my creative writing juices, which is why it is important to read if you want to write.

Leave a Reply

Categories

